Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Region: England, Wales and Northern Ireland


A space for resources to help RE teachers and their students explore the Christian faith
“A huge resource to treasure.”
Lat Blaylock, Editor, RE Today

We are delighted to share with you our library of resources. You can use the filter feature below to find topics most relevant to your curriculum.

The Decalogue

What are the Ten Commandments?

The Decalogue is a set of laws or rules that are also known as The Ten Commandments. God gave them to Moses after he had led the Israelites out of Egypt. They are part of the covenant that God made with the Jews: a set of laws that they were expected to keep. Failure to obey these laws would result in God's punishment.

The Decalogue can be found in Exodus 20:1-17. The following is a summary of each commandment:

  1. Do not have any other gods.
  2. Do not make or worship idols.
  3. Do not disrespect or misuse God’s name.
  4. Remember the Sabbath and keep it holy.
  5. Honour your mother and father.
  6. Do not commit murder.
  7. Do not commit adultery.
  8. Do not steal.
  9. Do not tell lies
  10. Do not be envious of others.

TASK: Are these laws still important today? Why/why not?