Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Region: England, Wales and Northern Ireland


A space for resources to help RE teachers and their students explore the Christian faith
“A huge resource to treasure.”
Lat Blaylock, Editor, RE Today

We are delighted to share with you our library of resources. You can use the filter feature below to find topics most relevant to your curriculum.

Easter: Stations of the Cross

What happened on Jesus' journey to the cross?

People across the world remember the death of Jesus by following a route that has a number of  'devotions' or stations. At each station the focus is on a particular event of the day of His crucifixion, beginning with when He was condemned to die.

The 'Stations of the Cross' are often used as a kind of pilgrimage, as each person moves from station to station, remembering and thinking quietly about what happened to Jesus. They also say special prayers at these stations.

The stations are commonly used as a mini pilgrimage as the individual moves from station to station. At each station, the individual recalls and meditates on a specific event from Christ's last day. Specific prayers are recited, then the individual moves to the next station until all staions are complete.

Learn about what happened to Jesus once he was condemned to be crucified with this timeline...

Jesus is condemned to die
Jesus carries his cross
Jesus falls the first time
Jesus meets his mother, Mary
Simon helps carry the cross
Veronica wipes Jesus' face
Jesus falls the second time
Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem
Jesus falls the third time
Jesus is stripped
Jesus is nailed on the cross
Jesus dies on the cross
Jesus is taken down from the cross
Jesus is laid in the tomb
Jesus is alive, breaking the power of sin and death